Posted by: mountainmomma18 | May 19, 2009

See this Film

After multiple recommendations I finally downloaded and watched the documentary The Business of Being Born, produced by Ricki Lake (yes that Ricki Lake of “you go girl” 90’s fame) and directed by filmmaker Abby Epstein who finds out that she pregnant at the beginning of filming. Usually films that come so highly recommended are a disappointment, but I have to say I really enjoyed this one. I have to admit that when I was pregnant with the bug I read baby Catcher by Peggy Vincent and though I enjoyed the book, any woman who would chose to give birth at home with no hospital and no epidural was crazy. Then I had a baby and, well you know what they say about the best laid plans, let’s just say that it was not what I expected and afterwards I was disappointed in myself and the whole situation. But that’s a story for another day. Suffice it to say that I know understand why women would chose this kind of birth and I wholeheartedly agree that the medical community over-manages childbirth and is far too quick to intervene through drugs and surgery. I wonder what may have happened to me and the bug if she had not come so quickly.

What I like most about this documentary is that it does not over-reach and fall into the trap of propaganda, it has the feel of someone exploring and learning about a topic. Epstein takes the part of student and often skeptical observer, which is I think the place occupied by most of the audience. In this way the film becomes, really, a teachable moment, not preachy or judgmental, but exploring the possibilities of options. And really isn’t that what we as women want for our lives and the lives of our daughters. Look I am not usually a crunchy hippie or sunny idealist, but I am someone who believes that women’s place in this world, most specifically when they are mothers or about to become mothers becomes so small and myopic that it is in danger of strangling any choices a woman might have. Particularly I admired the risks that Lake took when she included the footage of her own birth in the film. At first I must admit that I was all, “Oh my god, I just say Ricki Lake’s boobs” but soon got over that. But let’s be real, that took a lot of guts. So, you know, you go girl and all that.

So to conclude, see this movie, you can rent it at the website or download it on itunes, but if you are a mom you know that it is pretty much a club, one you’re not in until you’re in, but one that ties so many of us together. Wow that was even a bit too cheesy for me, but don’t worry, the movie is not like that.

Leave a Reply

Categories

