Posted by: mountainmomma18 | July 15, 2009

They say it’s my birthday

So today I turned 34, Happy Birthday to me!!! It was a very nice birthday, even if I am not pregnant and not quite ready to be 34 and keep telling people I would like to be referred to as turning 28. My mom reminded me that I was not in fact 28 and she knew since she was there when I was born, then I got her on my side.

Mom: I know how old you are because I was there. Granted I don’t remember much because that was back when you got the good drugs, but it was definitely 1975, so you are 34.

Me: Yes, but mom have you thought about the fact that if I am 28 then you are 6 years younger as well.

Mom: (long pause) You have a good point there, you know you are a smart woman, you got from your mom by the way. And you have the maturity of a 34 year old, even at 28, that’s impressive.

So my mom is on my side and I also convinced by dad to play along with the same logic, he was more excited because he is older than mom. We had a good day, I woke up to a piping hot breakfast made by the husband and it was very yummy, even if the bug insisted that she eat off of my plate even though she had the same thing on her own. Then it was showers and getting dressed and off we were to go do a little shopping and a birthday lunch at my restaurant of choice. The shopping though strangely was not for me, I got my birthday present last week. The husband and I finally decided (well actually the husband just capitulated to my constant subtle and not at all whiny requests) for the new iphones. Since the husband’s birthday was about 2 weeks ago (June 30th) we decided those would be our birthday presents. I also wanted a few other things, but they were not for me, they were for the bug. First I wanted to get her one of those sand and water tables since she loves playing in water and we finally got the deck clean and baby proofed.  Of course after three stores I came to the conclusion that I would have to order the damn thing online because I could not find it anywhere! So instead I got her a pink Step One buggy with a cup holder (how cool is that?) that we could use to take walks since she is resisting the stroller now a days. But while I was at Toys R Us I did something that I swore I would never do, I bought my very young child a very expensive toy. I have been eyeing the Elmo live toy, but at $60 I reasoned myself out of it. Even though the bug loves Elmo (or momo as she calls him) It seems more than her parents. But we walked down the aisle and there he was, on sale for $50, and in my purse was a coupon for $15 off, so the thing would be $35. What really sealed the deal though was when I pushed the button on his foot and he started blowing kisses at us, and the bug blew kisses back, he came home with us. She loves him, we had to take him out of the packaging in the car so that she could hold him on the drive home and she spent the rest of the afternoon standing him up and pushing the button on his foot so he would talk to her. I just about died from the cuteness.

So over all it was a good birthday. My friends and family all called to sing to me and many of them did me the honor of taking money they would have used for some trinket for me that I do not need and giving it instead to a charity. This is something I started a few years ago when I realized that I really don’t need more stuff in my house and there are a lot of people who are in need, so when people ask me what I want for my birthday I always ask them to instead give to someone who could use it more. But I came up with an even better idea for next year. My sister-in-law’s sister (not the crazy one) was able to raise enough money to send 30 kids to camp for her last birthday and I think that is awesome, so I think I will give that a try next year.

Oh and yeah I share my birthday with a very cool blogger, Aunt Becky over at Mommy wants Vodka. She is much cooler than me and hysterically funny so if you do not read her already (and who doesn’t?) go check her out!

Responses

  1. That sounds like an excellent birthday!

  2. You got the iPhone? I want a birthday like that! Even if it means getting older.

  3. Happy Birthday, lover! I’m planning on rocking my 30’s, just like you do.

  4. New iPhone, sa-weet!

    At one time I told myself I would tell my son I was actually 10 years younger than I am so he wouldn’t think his mom was so old. But then I realized I could tell him I’m 20 years younger than my real age, and he would still think it was old. Sigh….

    Glad you had a nice birthday.

  5. We don’t share a birthday, but we do share a birth YEAR! 🙂

    I’m with your daughter — I LOVE Elmo. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

