Posted by: mountainmomma18 | August 26, 2009

This may save someone from a nose punch, but not Glen Beck.

I really think that I should have some sort of special pin or t-shirt or something that can readily identify me as what my husband calls a bleeding heart liberal. Part of that I am sure comes from being raised by hippies. Frankly I am a bit surprised my name is not Rainbow, as it is I am named after a hippie song (although it is not weird or anything, so no one knows unless I tell them). So my politics are pretty left leaning as is my “whatever floats your boat” ideology for people and my rabid resistance to legislating morality and/or sexuality. This does not mean I don’t get along with people of different social persuasions, ask my in-laws, staunch Republicans. I love them and they love me, we just usually avoid some hot button topics. But for people who do not know me, I so need that button because for some reason people assume that I share their politics and come to my door asking me to sign petitions against gay marriage or join them to fight the health care reform bill. And wow are they disappointed when I laugh and tell them that I think denying some people marriage is discriminatory and I think that everyone should have health care, not just the people who can afford it. This whole button idea would really help me in these situations, because they would avoid me as soon as they saw it and not waste their time being polite and tell me I’m going to hell right away. And I would not have to bite my tongue, sometimes cause other times I tell them exactly what I think, and try to find a polite way of telling them to get their butts off of my porch. See the button thing would be a win-win situation. Look I am not annoying; I do not rant and rave to people about what I think because I believe everyone has a right to their opinion. But it does get hard when people assume that I share their views and they are idiots. I don’t think people are idiots if they do not agree with me, but I do think they are idiots if they do not know what the hell they are talking about. My favorite such encounter happened just a few days ago when some guy knocking at my door said, and I quote “Don’t you think you deserve better health care because you work and pay for insurance?” I had tried to be polite up until that point, but that was my undoing. No, No I do not think that and I will shout that from the rafters. My husband and I make a good living, we are lucky and thankful. And we both believe that because we are lucky we should help those less fortunate than us. Look I really do not mean to say that I think everyone should agree with me on anything, but I do think everyone should educate themselves about topics before they start talking out of their ass (I’m talking to you Glen Beck, seriously if I was ever close enough I would punch you right in the nose).  And now I feel bad because there are so many other people who also deserve a good nose punching, starting with every single person who works at Fox news.  But maybe they will see my button before I get too close and run away. But if I see Glen Beck though I will totally take it off so I can get close enough for that punch. I grew up with a brother and have a mean right hook Mr. Beck, so you know, be careful. And I have a sinkhole in my backyard so if you continue to babble after I punch you, well, you know.

Responses

  1. I find a punch to the face the best way to communicate.

  2. Yeah, that whole health care thing… Duh! But that’s just my European take on the matter.

  3. I can’t even talk to people about the health care thing. I don’t know a damn thing about it, but I do know that no one is forming a panel where you stand before them like you’re defending a thesis to determine whether you get treatment or not. (Or, as a child of the 80’s, a better image – the dance judges at the table from Flashdance). Why is a bad idea to have an annual discussion about the realities of your health situation and your future plans?

    Oh, and Glen Beck – I’d be with you on the nose punching, but I think it gives him too much attention.

  4. I would have loved to see you punch the guy! Then, with his nose dripping blood, you could send him to me and I would have locked him in a room in my house with my two kids, and let them “entertain” him for hours until his head exploded.


Leave a Reply

Categories

