Posted by: mountainmomma18 | January 23, 2010

In which we prove we should never leave the house

So I have written before how the husband and I share a very strange sense of humor and we tend to encourage that in each other which honestly provides us with hours of amusement and probably means that we really do belong together.  Of course that does not mean that we should take ourselves out of the house when we do this, we should totally keep that from other people before they call Dr. Phil on us and stuff. But occasionally we find ourselves caught by  people who must think one or both of us is crazy. You see when we get going with each other it soon becomes a contest to see who can say the most outrageous thing to get the other person to laugh. For example one of the husband’s favorite comebacks is “well you called me a crack whore and then kicked me, which I think was uncalled for,” and I will reply “well if you quit doing people for crack then you wouldn’t be a crack whore.” And with that I usually win because that shit is funny.  One of our favorite things to do is a game called “My Day was Harder than Yours” in which we of course tell each other about our day but then segway into a crazy list of accomplishments followed by smack talk about how the other person spent all day watching their “stories” and eating bon bons. For example the first person might say “Well today I built a perpetual motion machine which I used to feed all the starving throughout the world while you ate bon-bons.” And the second person comes back with “Well while you were playing with some tinker toys I spoke to every member of Congress about healthcare reform, which means basically that I am awesome and you are kind of useless.”  Look I know it’s crazy, we accept that, but it works for us so stop looking at me that way. Anyway this all usually takes place in the privacy of our own home and/or car as we are well aware that we are strange, but a few weeks ago we started in the car and as I was jonsing for some coffee and with no Starbucks drive through in the area we headed towards McDonalds and now we can never go back again, well at least to that McDonalds. Because you see just as the nice lady opened the widow to hand me my mocha the husband had come to the part of the game where you say “and so you are completely useless.”  The look that nice lady gave to my husband was priceless. I know that she very quickly told everyone working about the poor lady with the awful husband in the blue Jeep. But we spent the entire ride home in hysterics, so I guess it was worth it, but we still cannot go back to that McDonalds.

Responses

  1. But you SHOULD go back to that McDonald’s and this time, you should be the one telling him he’s completely useless. Then you can soak up that applause as the entire place cheers you on, and you will win the game FOREVER! And future conversations would include the phrase, “Well, even the people at McDonald’s think YOU’RE useless.”

    🙂

  2. OMG, I so needed that laugh today. Thanks.

    My aunt asked my gma, why my Dh and I were so mean to each other, because we constantly pick on and call each other names. and my gma told her that we are just mean but we love each other. so we intentionally were super mean to each other the next time we saw her. it’s pretty funny 🙂

  3. (You and your husband are very silly…:)

    I’m reading your blog for the first time and just learned about your baby loss. My heart goes out to you.

    I noticed a wonderful comment you made on DWT a long time ago. That led me to your blog. There are many families who keep blogs of their baby loss journeys so I listed a few below in case you were still looking to give and receive support. Many of the blogs have soothing music playlists, too. I pray this helps you feel connection and support which is needed from the first shocking day through a new pregnancy and forever. Your baby lives eternally and you’ll always be connected.

    May you feel greatly blessed today. I’m not “preaching” (I read how you feel about “that”)–but it’s natural for me to pray and to look for support and counsel in my Bible.

    Michal McAllister
    Lake Forest Park WA
    no blog but immichal AT yahoo.

    This is the ministry of a mom (Kelly) who provides memory items and many other encouragements to grieving families.

    http://www.sufficientgrace.net/

    Sufficient Grace Ministries for Women, Inc.
    Comforting others with the comfort we have received…(2 Corinth. 1:3-4)

    http://audreycaroline.blogspot.com/ Bring the Rain

    http://sgirl79.blogspot.com/ He Will Carry Me

    http://carleighmckenna.blogspot.com/ Caring for Carleigh

    Each blog will lead you to many more should you wish to join the network of families giving each other great mutual support and comfort.

    This scripture became very important to me when I was diagnosed with MS when my kids were babies. It’s certainly true and deeply comforting.

    “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort that we ourselves have received from God.” 2 Corinthians 1:3-4


Leave a Reply

Categories

