Posted by: mountainmomma18 | March 20, 2010

I shall name him Squishy and he shall be mine/ Or things I would like to see bloggers say

So I may have had to watch Finding Nemo like 72 times today* but on the plus side I got to read a bunch of stuff on the internet. Oh yeah, how are these things related? It seems the bug has inherited both of her parents seasonal allergies, I know fun for her. But they were getting bad so the pedi gave us some antihistamine. And just like her mom, the bug’s reaction to the meds was to promptly fall asleep, well not totally asleep. She lingered between dosing and whining because she was sleepy- I don’t blame her, that sucks when you feel all weird and half awake. And all she wanted to do was dose on my lap and watch Nemo. So that is what we did. A few times I did try to turn Nemo off, but it’s like she was on some sort of timer, every time I tried to watch something else she would open her eyes, pout and say “Nemo?” What’s a mom to do? Watch Nemo 72 times* I guess.  It’s fine, I had my laptop on a TV tray and read a lot of the fallout from the NY Times article- it was entertaining.

I don’t think people are really all that pissed about the article itself, which was really not offensive (to me) but more so at the perpetuation of the idea of mommy blogging, giving all the haters more ammunition. And the mommy bloggers have come out in full force to defend themselves, on their blogs and via Twitter (which allows of course for the best passive aggressive digs), but none of them has written the defense that I want to see. What I don’t want to read is people justifying what they do and why, giving details about when they blog during the day and Twittering when their husbands and kids are sleeping or doing something else so that we all know that they are not neglecting their families. I say screw that. This is what I really wish bloggers would say:

  1. Hell yeah I make money from my blog! I have ads and sponsors and I use twitter and facebook to draw in more people and giveaways help me too. I am making money to do whatever the hell I want with it. I don’t know why the hell making money is bad, we still live in America right? Also free stuff is awesome, and I like getting it.
  2. For the love of god and all that is holy if you think I suck do NOT READ THIS BLOG!! It is my blog and I will write about whatever the hell I want and if you don’t like it I don’t give a tiny rat’s ass. Also this is my blog so if you write mean and nasty things you bet your ass I will delete them, because I can, because it’s my blog.
  3. I don’t think that you understand exactly what a blog is. It is in fact a journal of sorts, where I write, about me. How in the world can a blogger be self-involved- I mean isn’t that the point. I write stuff about me and if you want to you can read it. It’s me, me all the time because that is what a blog is.
  4. ‘eff you and the horse you rode in on.
  5. I may not be physically perfect but at least I am smart and talented enough to be successful. Also I can write in complete and grammatically correct sentences.
  6. Sometimes I let my kid eat puffs off the floor so that I can have a few minutes on the computer. And if you have never bribed your kid to get a minute to yourself you are a liar.
  7. I present myself the way that I want to, you do not get to know everything because you are not my mom. And even my mom doesn’t know everything because we all have a past and we have all done things we are not proud of. It’s called life, so go get your own past and leave mine alone.

I think that’s enough. But oh how I would like someone to defend themselves like that. I would read that blog forever.

PS * this may be an overestimation, but not by much.

PPS- I did not tell you about Nemo to defend my long hours on the computer today- just telling you how I entertained myself while I was stuck on the couch, watching Nemo.

Responses

  1. Amen, sister.

  2. Yes! Yes, yes, yes.

  3. Yeppers!

  4. LOL! Nice blog. Very well said. I don’t think I could give a comment as colorful and as eloquent as that. It might start a veritable flaming war that I’d gonna regret if I did. 🙂 But I get your point.

    I empathize on the Nemo thing. I’ve got a 5-yr old daughter myself. I’ve already lost count of how many times I watched UP! and Garfield.

    PS. #4 is a quote from Stephen King’s IT if I’m not mistaken.


Leave a Reply

Categories

